genre with a social conscience

Went to my Writers on Fire workshop yesterday and got positive feedback. Strange how a positive critique is harder to absorb than a ruthless one. Of course I have things to work on, like honing in my narrative voice and shifting perspectives. But nothing I can’t handle.

The story is unfolding much more clearly. I know my protagonist and antagonist. I know how they think and their back-stories. I can’t wait to see where they lead me.  A few months back this novel was about a dimension-hopping dragon and a little girl. Now it’s genre with a social conscience.  Amazing how the undead and a teenage girl can be of service and contribute to their world.

When was the last time you thought about how you could help your own community?  Has it ever crossed your mind? I’ll be posting links to several organizations that may lead you to doing something for others.  Hope it helps inspire, I’m not interested in giving anyone a guilt trip, just opening doors to possibilities.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

