Happy 4th of July

Happy 4th of July everyone. It’s one of my favorite holidays right up there with Halloween.

 

My story for this week…

I went and had a mani pedi yesterday. It’s been months since I’ve had one and my toes and nails really needed it. So I’m sitting in the massage chair enjoying some quiet time with a foot soak and a pop culture magazine when the well-meaning manicurist feels the need to invade my peace with the usual get to know you questions.

“You have any children?”

“Yes,” I said.

“How many?”

“One.”

“What kind?”

“A little girl.”

“How old?”

Three.”

“Where is she now?”

“Camp.”

“You work?

“I’m a writer.”

“You lucky to stay at home.”

“Thank you,” I said.

“You only have one?”

“Yes.”

“You still young, you should have more.”

“I can’t,” I say.

“Sure you can. You look very healthy.”

“I can’t,” I repeat noticing that I’m rubbing my belly.

“You can’t?” she echos. “That’s okay,” she said turning her head away from me. “One is good.”

On the positive side, she is absolutely correct, one is good. It took me a whole day to get over the feeling annoyed before her statement rang true. Because my knee jerk reaction is to scream and ask, “Why the fertility (old joke) she wants to know? Yell leave me alone! I’ve had miscarriages and her questions are cruel. What’s wrong with one???????? How many do you have bitch? Does that make you feel like you’re better than me?”

but instead I sat there and read about Leonardo DiCaprio and his girl Blake in Italy. I am determined to regain my optimistic attitude that once inhabited me. I am determined to be happy about the things I do have instead of unhappy about the things I do not.

 

3 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July

Add yours

  1. I’m glad Leo and Blake were there to calm you down! When you think about it, she’s is right! One is fantastic. I’ve always wanted 4 kids, but right now, one would be fine. Not ideal, but good.

    A mani/pedi sounds lovely 🙂

  2. people can be so intrusive. i’m happy to see your calm response and ability to move forward without getting anger, i hope to get there at some point. like she said, one is enough, a blessing that not everyone can have so she is right. not that i’m justifying her assumption that you can have another.

    1. I wish I culd explain how her voice sounded, it’s the same tone I hear often…it’s a mix of judgment, accusation and contempt. I don’t think it’s my ears either. Becasue when people make comments like why not more? or you should have more! they look at me with a crinkled forehead and and explanation point shooting out the top of their head. any else ever see or hear what I mean?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

