Clean Up

Does anyone else clean their house before the cleaning lady arrives? I do. I can’t help myself. I don’t want Sara to know how sloppy we really are. I spend hours on Sunday tidying up, putting toys away, clearing my daughters art table, emptying the trash, and attempting to clear countertops and my desk so she can see the surfaces. I change the sheets on the beds, hang fresh towels and sweep the floors. I know this is ridiculous. My family isn’t filthy or anything, but I can’t stop myself.

But this week, I suffered from a cold turned to vertigo and I wasn’t able to do my usual cleaning. And guess what? I don’t think she even noticed!  Lesson learned right? No, I know my compulsion will strike again in two weeks.  Someone please help me!

5 thoughts on “Clean Up

Add yours

  1. You are not alone with cleaning prior to the cleaning person arrives. I think its normal and probably should be done. It allows that cleaning person to spend more time doing the deep cleaning and scrubbing. That stuff sucks!

  2. Funny you blog about this since I was just thinking about it today. I didn’t tell you this but we are not sharing our nanny anymore. We let the housekeeper go so now Reyna is taking care of Lauren and cleaning the house. So imagine your housekeeper coming everyday. Do you know how much time I spend trying to straighten up before I go to bed now? I feel awful that she cleans up and then we destroy it in three hours. I am actually hanging my clothes up now when I come home from work. I put my dirty clothes in the hamper. I put my dirty dishes in the dishwasher. Although it’s nice to have someone clean everyday, I swear it’s way more work for me!

  3. I have had a pile of clean clothes on my love seat for a week now. And the pile keeps growing. It’s sad. But other things have taken priority. We just keep digging through and getting out what we need. *sigh*

    If I had someone coming to clean my house, I’d be ecstatic. BUT… I’d still probably do what you do. It would take me all week to get it into shape, though! I’m not exaggerating! (don’t judge me!) 🙂

    1. Hi Donna,
      I’ve had to fire my cleaning ladies in recent years due to cost- but it is always the first thing we get again when we can because it makes me a bit more sane.

      I have a laundry basket in the laundry room just off the garage that gets filled with the dropped clothes near the door and shoes and often another full of clothes in my bedroom that need to be folded and put away. I hate doing laundry- it is never ending…looking forward to the day when my daughter is old enough to start doing her own. ;P
      Holly

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

