Sneak Peek

Hi there. Guess what? I’m working through copy edits on my book and trying to write an interesting synopsis to help sell it. I’ve been dreading the synopsis since I realized I was writing a book. How would I boil hundreds of pages down to so few? I put off worrying about the synopsis until it was time to do the deed.

I never thought I had a book in me. Surprise, surprise, I did. And since I don’t do anything half-way and because I like my story and love the characters I created, I want to try to sell it. I’m going through the traditional publishing process of submitting to agents and finding a publisher one day soon (soon in publishing means years. It isn’t that quick but you get the idea) I sincerely hope you too may enjoy LIFE-LIKE by Holly Raychelle Hughes before 2015. And I could not have even started the process if it wasn’t for Kimberly Griffiths Little. She is my guardian angel guiding my way.

In the meantime, here is my synopsis for your reading enjoyment. I don’t think I’m done working on it, so your feedback is appreciated. Please let me know if anything is too vague or confusing. Remember this is a YA novel. My synopsis is meant to tickle an agent’s curiosity bone and make them ask to read my manuscript. It is not a beat outline and it does not reveal the end of my book.

Thanks for your help!

Synopsis of LIFE-LIKE

By Holly Raychelle Hughes

Most people assume that when they die they’ll see their life flash before their eyes prior to arriving at heaven’s pearly gates where their loved ones will greet them. But when Liv dies, she doesn’t go anywhere. Not heaven, not hell. At first, Liv doesn’t even know she’s dead.

On Tuesday, December eighteenth, Liv’s mother Maude is killed in a car accident. Maude tells her daughter this grim fact while ignoring the gaping hole in her head and complaining about the sensation of cold stainless steel against her bare ass at the morgue.

Despite her initial shock and denial, Liv is determined to save her mother from deteriorating into a maternal apparition that will haunt her forever. No flying, ethereal angels lounging on white puffy clouds come to assist Liv. But angels do appear. Unfortunately Liv can’t recognize them or their attempts to help her. To Liv they materialize as bothersome ravens, a girl with a drinking problem, a Goth, a stalker, and an undead man trying to take her mother away from her forever.

Liv remains oblivious to her circumstances. Not only is she dead, she’s trapped in limbo. Liv must wake up to the opportunity fate has given or risk dying with regret suffering a horrible eternal afterlife. She takes the risks to design the life before her eyes.  First she manipulates the day in an attempt to save her mother. Changing events doesn’t save anyone but it does reveal her true feelings toward her best friend. Liv is beyond irritated. How can her life be over now that she’s fallen in love? Liv’s journey is an emotional ride through the perilous waters of love, shame and ultimately forgiveness.

6 thoughts on “Sneak Peek

Add yours

  1. Hi. Your book sounds interesting and your blurb does too. Just a suggestion – change “ass” to “back.” It stops flow of reading. Also, end last paragraph on “afterlife.” It adds suspense and entices the reader to want to know more.

  2. Hi, Holly,
    I saw your post on she writes and appreciated the chance to see your sneak peek. This sounds like a great book! I totally want to know more about how Liv got to re-do her life and find peace in her death.

    For me, the most intriguing part of the pitch was in third graf — what Liv did and who helped her. I suggest moving this up so that the reader can see the book\’s action right away. I did a quick rearranging to see what that would look like, and I pasted that version below. Take it with a grain of salt (I did this really quick and some of the words are mine rather than yours so I\’m sure the language won\’t sound right).

    FYI: your synopsis has \”angles\” where I think you mean \”angels.\” And the second use of \”her\” in the 2nd sentence in the 2nd graf was a little unclear for me — I wasn\’t sure if it referred to Liv or her mother.

    Best of luck! This book sounds like it has a real shot at getting published.

    Moira Muldoon

    Most people assume that when they die they’ll see their life flash before their eyes, then arrive at the pearly gates. But when Liv dies, she doesn’t go anywhere. Not heaven, not hell. Just limbo.

    At first Liv doesn’t even realize she’s dead. Once she does (courtesy of a morgue-side chat with her mother, who also died in the car accident), she decides to redo her own ending. First she manipulates the day in an attempt to save her mother. Changing events doesn’t save anyone but it does reveal her true feelings toward her best friend. Liv is beyond irritated. How can her life be over now that she’s fallen in love? Angels intervene to help, but unfortunately Liv can’t recognize them. To Liv they materialize as bothersome ravens, a girl with a drinking problem, a Goth, a stalker, and an undead man trying to take her mother away from her forever. Liv must wake up to the opportunity fate has given her or risk dying with regret.

    Liv’s journey is an emotional ride through the perilous waters of love, shame and ultimately forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

