First Drafts

I distinctly remember reading that Stephenie Meyer, author of the Twilight series and Host, wrote the first draft of Twilight over the summer. And I thought, how the F-CK did she do that? She has kids and a husband right? How did she write all those words, craft scenes, and write a book in two months?

And then Francesca Lia Block taught a class on how to write a first draft in three months and I thought, how is that possible? I could never do that!!!

And then, this spring, I wanted to start writing Dear Dead Drunk Girl. I had a few fits and starts. Wrote some scenes but nothing felt right and I scrapped it all. Then I had a conversation with Lorin Oberweger and she got it. She totally understood what it was that I wanted to accomplish with my second book, she even ever so graciously and GENEROUSLY gave me my title and we set up a time and date to work together. Not wanting to waste money, an editor’s time or my time I set a schedule for myself. If I wrote 834 words per day Monday through Friday, from June through August I’d have a 50,000 word first draft. I then reminded myself that all first drafts are “shitty first drafts” (famous quote from Anne Lamont, in her book Bird by Bird: some instruction s on writing and life) I got to work. and you know what?…I’m doing it!

It didn’t come easy at first. There were a few days when I felt very confused. Why wasn’t the story working? I knew my main character, Mary. She’s one hundred percent flushed out and living in my head, her vodka soaked personality is vivid, but the story was flat. I stepped away from my keyboard and pulled out my new notebook, and a blue pen, (I hate writing in black ink) and started writing.

Photo on 6-17-13 at 3.15 PM

That’s when the second miracle happened. An outline sprang forth out of me. I am a self-proclaimed panster. (a fly by the seat of your pants writer) But oh no, not this time. I wrote and wrote and wrote- five pages of outline. And then I picked a chapter and started writing. And every day since then, I have done the same thing. Today I wrote 2,077 words.

I want to live in the ecstasy of this impossible dream come true. I set a goal, I am meeting, and exceeding it. I know I will have to go in and do some heavy lifting during my rewrites, but it’s joyous to have pages to revise. It’s amazing to me that maybe I can do this. Book two won’t take years and years to write. That I too, can write a first draft of a world-wide (aim high – go big- dream wildly- I always say) bestseller during the summer even with my little girl and husband’s demands on my time.

I hope you too are meeting a goal. Happy summer writing everyone!

3 thoughts on “First Drafts

Add yours

  1. I’m so impressed by you. You are really stepping up and putting your money where your mouth is. Excited to see how the new outline grows.

    I’m rewriting and have also set a schedule, which is hard to keep some days. I’m aiming for a readable draft by mid-July. I’ll keep you posted. 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

