revision hell

My YA MS Dear Dead Drunk Girl emerged from living with Mary, my MC, for 3 years. She was a secondary character in the first book I wrote and she deserved her own story to be told. I fell in love with her. I know her voice, her vices and her heart. I wrote the first draft of her story during the summer. I started in on the revisions in the fall. For the last three moths she went dark on me. My Mary was silent because my mind’s hands were white-knuckle-gripping my story’s throat. My determination to fix every plot issue resulted in my choking the life out of her voice. The past two weeks I’ve slowed down. I recalled that this book is about her, and her voice and story. Not about me making the story perfect in this revision. Message received. *deeps breaths

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

