Good News

The past few weeks have been a blur of activity for me. I opened the doors to my new business and got generous feedback from a literary agent.

The new business:

The first two young adult books I wrote were about dead girls. They are not ghost stories. I suppose I’m drawn to the idea because I’m a medium and intuitive healer. So seeing and hearing things most people don’t and interacting with them is my normal. And being dead and being a ghost are two very different things.

After studying to hone in my gifts, my mentor encouraged me to open my own practice of spiritual healing. I was scared to come out of the woo-woo closet. It’s an uncomfortable place to be- exposed with all of my beliefs laid at people’s feet to judge.

But the irony of my fear is this– I’ve been booked for weeks. My community including complete strangers (wo are now new clients) came to see me and support me. And in return my clients tell me I’m giving them a sense of peace. They say I help them feel lighter. I’m so happy my gifts are helping them!

If you’re curious about intuitive healing please visit my other site: http://www.hollyhughesintuitive.com

In other good news:

It appears I sold an essay to xoJane.com.When the link goes live- I’ll let you know.

The BEST gift I got this week was…(yes, I buried the lead)

An agent I’ve been waiting to hear back from said I piqued her interest and asked for a full. I mean, really- this is FANTASTIC NEWS.

I received the email after fusion class. I couldn’t get home fast enough. Afraid of sending the version of my manuscript I made sure to bathe, eat and take a deep breath before hitting send. Within a few short hours she wrote back. It was a no from her for now, but she gave me concise notes and said if I revise she’d be open to reading it again.

HELL YES! This is an enormous gift and I’m going to take it.

First my ego had to be swept up an coddled. She didn’t love it enough to continue. And I love my book. But publishing is a business.

I let my ego have a pity party and got to work. I printed out her notes and now I’m gonna kill my darlings. Murder them. Strip down my language and find a way to move things along.

My biggest fear is my MC will lose her voice. That the tenderness I worked so hard on will lay on the cutting room floor. The changes a critique partner asked for were an issue too. Other things require my brain to bend. I’m up for that challenge, too. Writing, revising and editing are hard work. My brain may bleed a bit and that’s okay.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to revise and resubmit. Wish me luck!

 

3 thoughts on “Good News

Add yours

  1. I’m so happy for you, Holly! I know it will be a hard revision, but you can do it. Just stay true to your character, and I think her voice will still come shining through. Good luck!

    And I’m so happy for you and your new practice! I love that you’ve been booked for the past few weeks—that’s incredibly awesome!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

