Why now?

Some people are asking why I shared my story about working on Election twenty years after the fact.

I suppose I’m a bit like my MC Mary. She must go through her past in order to figure out her future. She examines her previous experiences, both good and bad, in order to make sense of herself now.

I’ve done this periodically throughout my lifetime. Tallied up my relationships and life experiences to make sure my reactionary self isn’t holding the reins of my life and steering me down a dark path.

That’s not to say I don’t get mad, sad, irritated, hurt, betrayed, joyful, gleeful or silly. I feel all these things. I do my best not to let one dark period rule the rest. And I’ve had some dark things happen.

Don’t believe me?

I was raped at 15 and I kept that secret until I was 28.

I moved when I was a junior in high school.

A year later our house burned down.

I lost my home to the Northridge earthquake. The building’s first floor crunched down, had a water main and a gas main break. The building next door was rubble and the one across the street was on fire.

I was married to an emotionally and mentally abusive man. (When I left him my neighbors told me they saw him beat the dogs. I got away before he could beat me)

My dad is an alcoholic. He got sober ten years ago. But the path to sobriety was hard to live through.

I’ve had two miscarriages. Then couldn’t have any more children.

See- no joke. Hard things.

They don’t define me. I don’t wallow in the suffering.

What people know me for:

I love to dance. And I’m pretty good at it.

I have a big smile.

I learn the words to songs without trying and sing in my car all the time. (off-key be glad you can’t hear it.)

I write. I love reading and writing. Did I mention I love to write?

I try new things.

I face my fears. i.e. I have vertigo so heights jack me up something fierce, but I still hike and go skiing and do things at altitude.

I dance around my house and in the car.

I am an intuitive healer. I’m clairvoyant, clairaudient, clairsentient, clairalient and claircognizant. Here are definitions.

I can see dead people.

I make up conversations with animals. It’s fun you should try it.

I am an extrovert who is introverted at home.

I love Halloween. It’s the best holiday.

I am a Trekky. I am a Sci-Fi geek and proud of it.

This is my balance. Good stuff with hard stuff.

I don’t question why something comes up. I trust that I’m recalling part of life to help me get ready for whatever comes next.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

