Resurrecting Sunshine

I met Lisa A. Koosis in a MediaBistro YA class. I’d just moved cross-country and was jacked up on hormones desperately trying to convince my body to stop having miscarriages. So obviously I was stable and a pleasure to meet virtually.

I was working my way through my first YA story WHAT DEATH HAS TOUCHED and despite my desire not to be clumsy I was and Lisa looked past my flaws to the writer I hoped to be. She became my friend.

Since meeting on-line she has written at least five books, queried lots, entered contests and received many No’s. She confessed to me she was going to quit writing. But I just couldn’t let her. You know why? She’s freaking talented! 

We corresponded and traded heartaches. She dazzled me with her ability to NaNoWriMo and her imagination. Her creative lens is unique and tasty to read.

But the very best news she ever shared was when Brianne Johnson Literary Agent at Writer’s House took her on as a client and sold her book. The road was not easy, but that’s Lisa’s story to share.

I’m telling this version of the friend of the woman who never gave up, who kept getting better, who continued to write and be kind and generous because I want everyone to know being an author is hard work. Lisa did all the hard work and put years into it and I never doubted she’d find her place in the world.

And today, 5 days post-op for me, as I’m feeling a little sorry for myself and in pain, my husband retrieved this from the mail. My own personal ray of Sunshine. And I started to cry, as if it was my accomplishment. This is how much her success means to me.

Then I picked the book up, smelled the freshly printed pages, checked out my book mark and flipped to the back. And to my total surprise she thanked me in her Acknowledgements. The tears came out and I’m in disbelief.

Here’s to you my long-distance friend. I am so proud of you for crossing the finish line to publication. I will always be your cheerleader!

To everyone else, this book is good. Please read it. Order it. 

 

14141487_10210470274296019_3861798591299001655_n.jpg

 

One thought on “Resurrecting Sunshine

Add yours

  1. Holly, if I haven’t told you before, you are an amazing friend, an amazing person, AND an amazing writer. These words mean more to me than I will ever be able to express. I always felt like it was a special kind of serendipity that we met online…after growing up so close to one another geographically, almost the exact same age, only to meet in an online class well into our adulthood, when we were living on opposite sides of the country. Thank you for always supporting me, and for your friendship. One thing I know for certain is that your time is coming, and that all your hard work is going to pay off, too, and I hope I can repay ever word of encouragement and every moment of support. Consider yourself (gently) hugged, my friend.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

