Too Much Hate

94e08becdc5dabef0ae885d088f0a01b

Where there is fear

There is hate.

I see and feel too much hate lately. I try to run from it, but I understand I must stand and be seen not hating.

So I wrote this:

 

There’s a safety
in the seats we fill.
In the distance between
our
words
hurled
at one another
in snapshot
edits.
Offensive mistakes &
growing pains.
Where is our forgiveness?
Remember the follies
we made
in secret
before cameras?
Be gentle with emerging
people.
They’re raw, confused, and unsure which person to be.

The one you see.

The one inside.

The one who’s supposed to be.

 

One can have opinions and compassion. I can’t join you in the world of black and white, of rabid rush to judgements. I’d rather wait and get to know more. Take my time and listen to things that upset me, ignite the fire within, and confound me. I’m not afraid to pay attention to the stories that upset me, and the myriad of voices screaming like a cacophony of screams coming from inside a torture chamber.

Somewhere outside of the noise is a glimmer of truth. Beyond the manipulated images there is a story.

Your story matters.

Know yourself and stay safe and kind. Please.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑